Scholars Encourage Boycott of Elsevier

Monday, January 16, 2012

In protest against business and political practices of publisher Elsevier that hamper the availability of scholarly research, over 12,446 scholars to date have signed a pledge not to publish, referee or serve on editorial boards for Elsevier journals until Elsevier "radically changes how they operate." They encourage their colleagues world-wide to sign as well. As of 7/30/2012, there were 37 KU faculty that have signed this pledge.

Read more about the issues involved:

Background of the boycott

Q&A with the founders of the Elsevier Boycott, Tim Gowers and Tyler Neylon

Michael Eisen's blog about the boycott

University of Pittsburgh Joins Boycott Elsevier

Sign the pledge:

  • Ada Emmett
    Director, Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright, KU Libraries
  • Josh Bolick
    Scholarly Communication Librarian
    Shulenburger Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright, KU Libraries
  • Marianne Reed
    Digital Initiatives Coordinator
    Digital Initiatives & Discovery Services, KU Libraries
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today